Election 2018

-A +A


Municipal Council 2018-2022


Reeve: Rilla Race

Councillor - Ward 1: Ken Wilson

Ward One includes - Roseberry Township, Shenston Township, and the Long Sault Township

Councillor - Ward 2: Philip Schram

Ward Two includes - Barwick Township, and Dobie Township

Councillor - Ward 3: James Gibson

Ward Three includes - Mather Township, and Tait Township

Councillor - Ward 4: Rick Neilson

Ward Four includes - Potts Township, and Richardson Township


Robert Barron              39
Gary Judson                 66
Rilla Race                     86
Stefan Szeder              10

Total Voter turnout was 201.
Thank you to all candidates for your commitment to
you community and participating in the
2018 Municipal Election.

Municapal Elections will be taking place Monday, October 22, 2018

The next Municipal and School Board Elections to elect a Reeve, Councillors and School Board Trustees will be held on Monday, October 22, 2018. Nominations will open on Tuesday, May 1, 2018 and close on Nomination Day, Friday, July 27, 2018 at 2:00 p.m.(local time).

The next term of Council begins December 1, 2018 and concludes on November 14, 2022. Current council consists of 5 members, Reeve and four Councillors.

"So You Wish to Run for Council" is a course that presents the challenges and opportunities that candidates will face through the election campaign, and as a member of council.

To sign up for the course, go to Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO)

"So You Want to Run for Council" poster.

In accordance with the Municipal Elections Act, every four years, the CAO/Clerk Treasurer / Returning Officer conducts elections for the offices of:

  • Reeve
  • Councillors

More information related to the 2018 Municipal Election will be available closer to the opening of Nomination period.
Please check back regulary.


Notice of Nomination for Office - January 2018

2018 Candidates' Guide

Nomination Form (Form 1)

Candidate Information Session - MMA - June 27, 2018 - Fort Frances

Declaration of Qualifications

By-law 1652 - Code of Conduct for Council and Committee Members

Township of Chapple - Accessibility Standards for Customer Service

2018 Election - Important Dates

Municipal Conflict of Interest Act (Ontario e-Laws)

Nominations Received - as of July 27, 2018

Form EL07 List of Certified Candidates

Form EL20 Declaration of Acclamation to Office

2018 Election Form 4's - All Candidates

   - Robert Barron - Form 4

   - James Gibson - Form 4

   - Gary Judson - Form 4

   - Rick Neilson - Form 4

   - Rilla Race - Form 4

   - Philip Schram - Form 4

   - Stefan Szeder - Form 4

   - Ken Wilson - Form 4

The CAO/Clerk Treasurer is appointed the Municipal Returning Officer by statute. The Municipal Returning Officer is responsible for the administration
and management of municipal elections. The Clerk's department is responsible for accepting nominations of candidates running for office, preparing
voters' lists, preparing ballots, selecting voter help centres, determining voting period and certification and distribution of election results.

Please contact the CAO/Clerk Treasurer for more information:

Margaret (Peggy) Johnson, CAO/Clerk Treasurer/Returning Officer
1-807-487-2354 Ext. 223

E-mail: chapple@tbaytel.net
Fax: 1-807-487-2406
Township of Chapple
54 Barwick Road
Box 4
Barwick, ON  P0W 1A0

On October 22, 2018, Ontario's municipal and school board elections will be taking place.
If you are a resident, owner, or tenant of property in Ontario, a Canadian citizen, and 18 years of age you can vote in Ontario's municipal and school board elections.

See if you are on the Voter's List. Go to www.voterlookup.ca


VOTERLOOKUP has new information Videos on YouTube providing information to find out if you are on the Voter's List
for the 2018 Municipal and School Board Election taking place this fall.


Additional Information:
Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Ministry of Housing - Elections